ETIP Ocean & OES-Environmental Webinar: Marine Spatial Planning and Ocean Energy Development

environment Socio-economics
ETIP Ocean & OES-Environmental Webinar: Marine Spatial Planning and Ocean Energy Development
Cable laying at EMEC test site Credit Mike Brookes Roper courtesy of EMEC

 

19 November 2019

3 pm UTC / 4 pm CET / 7 am PST

Marine Spatial Planning (MSP) can support the installation of ocean energy, for example by shortening the consenting processes. However, current plans often fail to include ocean energy sector or its future needs.

In this webinar, you will hear experts discussing MSP approaches and opportunities to the ocean energy sector, how some national maritime spatial plans are being implemented and what they can offer to a more effective ocean energy deployment. 

Webinar presenters:

Anne Marie O'Hagan, Research Fellow, MaREI Centre for Marine and Renewable Energy - Presentation slides

Andy Lanier, Marine Affairs Coordinator for the Oregon Department of Land Conservation and Development - Presentation slides

Drew Milne, Senior Policy Officer within the Marine Scotland (Scottish Government) - Presentation slides

View webinar findings here.